Before I die I want to _______.

14 Mar

Candy Chang is an artist in New Orleans, Louisiana who’s art on the corner of Marigny Street and Burgandy Street asks the neighborhood to publicly display what they’d like to do before they die. She turned the side of this old building into a chalkboard, with spaces to complete the sentence “Before I die I want to _____.” Her pictures show a man dressed as a pirate writing “tried for piracey,” next to other colorfully written answers like “feel like the only girl in the room,” “see my daughter graduate,” and “see all the homeless people with homes.” After one day, the entire thing was filled, and people had to write in the margins. Finally, someone wrote “see this filled out again,” and Chang’s response was to wash away the answers and allow more people to be heard. Check it out by clicking on the photo!

It made me think: if I had to condense all of my hopes and dreams to fit in this one sentence, what would it be? Of course I want a life filled with love, family, happiness, and success but that doesn’t quite cover it. I want to change the world for the better, but that seemed too generic.

One quote that really stuck with me was by Howard Thurman, “Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

So, I think that if I were to fill out this sentence, I’d write “Before I die I want to do what makes me come alive.”

What would you write?

3 Responses to “Before I die I want to _______.”

  1. surfforsocialchange March 15, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Before I die I want to dance! A lot.

    • ubriquitous March 16, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      this is such a great post- new orleans is my favorite city, and the people there are amazing.
      before i die i want to go to as many countries as i possibly can

    • jocefong March 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Before I die, I want to have lived without regrets!

Leave a Reply

